A Pleasant Life from Executive Assistant to HR Manager

Karen Frances Bisana-Tolentino, HR & Administration Manager, TEKAB Company Limited, United Arab Emirates

karen 1

Young and restless Filipino achiever Karen Frances Bisana-Tolentino has been in Dubai for 12 years now. 

One of the most exciting and challenging task she was involved in was taking charge of the yearly participated Middle East Electricity Exhibition in Dubai. “At first it was difficult since I have no prior experience but, with the training and assistance, and my grit, I managed to pull through.”

From scratch

“The opportunity came to me when I landed here in UAE. It was the best offer I had at that time, starting as a Receptionist-cum-Telephone Operator; I managed to develop my skills and progressed to a higher position.”

As part of GIBCA Group, TEKAB was established in 1990 in U.A.E., as one of the leading manufacturers of instrumentation, control, data cables and fire resistant cables, in addition to low voltage power cables. “We have also gained reputable endorsements from local and international customers covering several continents. Apart from GCC countries our products are also distributed in Middle East, Europe and Africa.”

In the corporate world where she is entrenched in now, punctuality is the key to success. When she was Executive Assistant, she was kind of busy. “I assisted the Managing Director while he runs the show. I had to report early for work to effectively manage his schedule well in advance– to troubleshoot even, in case any unexpected change occurs.”

“I was also tasked to oversee that everything runs smoothly in the office in his absence, reporting to him any unusual event or possible problem encountered whilst he is away and even, sometimes take steps to solve these problems way before he gets back to office.”

2 (2)

with family

Frustrated No More

“When I was young, I wished to become a lawyer, but due to some inevitable factors, my dream of becoming one was put on hold. I belong to a family of lawyers (Bisana Clan) thus, this is where my inspiration comes from.”

What makes her unique is the determination and willingness to achieve more  while always keeping in mind that it is not her will but “Thy will be done”.

“Just when everyone dreams of becoming a boss someday, I think some people may find it pleasing to consider being an Executive Assistant too. I for one have found that being able to assist a good leader is and will always be a fulfilling career experience.”

“Being able to witness and observe first-hand, up close and personal how tycoons manage daily activities with ease and calmness, I already gained valuable knowledge and insights, not to mention, inspiration, on how to go about life in general. My daily encounter with successful people, in the very circle where my boss operates, has given me so much wealth of knowledge and life experience that no other desk job can ever provide and they constitute the greatest perks of being an assistant.”

Every day is a Blessing

When one talks about fulfillment and “arriving”, destination comes into her mind. “I believe my destination continues to evolve in time, and achieving greater heights, remain to be my driving force to continue my journey. At this young age, I know and I am confident that my life has turned out to be a pleasant one and will continue to be so.”

@ Tekab's stand

——-

IMG_3984THE BLOGGER. Ulysses Espartero is a journalist, speechwriter and publicist who traces his roots from two Philippine jewels – Laguna and Antique.  While in Dubai, he enjoyed his expat life documenting the struggles and victories of migrant workers in the Gulf Cooperation Council states. In 2014, he released Precious Gems in a Desert of Gold, the first and only coffee table book about Filipino achievers in the United Arab Emirates. Connect with him on facebook.

Leave a Reply

