Pinoy IT expert weaves web of lives

Erik Byron R. Briones

Publication1

Erik Byron R. Briones has been creating websites since 1999. He was named Senior Web Developer Lead and Assistant Digital Manager of CPI Media Group. There, he had the chance to prove what it meant to bring out the best in him.

“I was inspired to reach out and help artists get their works published into a Visual Arabia yearbook.” This was an idea broke by his Art Director Kamil Roxas and when completed was handed out to people at an event.

“This way, other artists’ works get noticed by people in the industry and beyond. We were also glad to receive feedback from artists who said they remained stagnant until they got inspired by our event.”

Streamlined Quality

 

CPI actually stands for Corporate Publishing International, a conglomerate which caters to C level market. As the Senior Web Developer, he makes sure that the websites and brands that he handles are in line with the company standards. “I also deliver campaigns for our clients. I also help my teammates accomplish their work and maintain a streamlined quality with all our web products.”

The most exciting project he was involved to was the launch of SME Advisor Middle East in WordPress which made CPI the first website in the company to be moved from ASP.NET to WordPress (PHP). “It was exciting because not only are we moving into the site into a new platform, we were also moving the work from being outsourced to in house.”

Be Good To Others

 

Being a web designer was half by choice and by accident. “I joined an IT team in our school back in college. I only joined the group to get free internet at home. I started with customer care, then I realized I am not good at talking to strangers, that I opted to join the design team – the web team.”

“I grew to love designing websites and creating websites for other people. My first client was a family friend and she was impressed by the audio/video presentation I made for her in Flash.”

 

On his way to the top, he has worked with Bigfoot Global Solutions, iComm International, Bigfoot Entertainment and Edward & Towers Real Estate.

He dreams to be more than what he is now. “Be good to others. Be helpful in every way you can.”

He remembers helping a friend and it turned out he was the one who gained from it. “I was helping a friend/Manager with his project podcasting for PC World Middle East, and this lead me to get more connections, get invited to events, to review cool gadgets. I even got a gig as tech guru for Pinoys in Pinoytech, a show for Filipinos in Filipino Rhythm (Dubai Eye).”

“Do not stop doing what you want to do. You may be a sales representative for some company but enjoy taking pictures or writing blogs. Don’t say you do not have time. Make time for it. Experiment, be with creative people. Do not surround yourself with people who only talk about problems  as there will always be problems but there’s also a way to get out of it or solve it.”

 

Trust Matters

From being a web designer who made simple sites for his family and friends, he was entrusted to take over the online aspect of the company’s brands. And yet, he has never changed. “I think I am still the same since college.” He graduated with a degree in Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering at University of San Carlos in 2003. He took his elementary at Sta. Teresa School and his high school at Don Bosco Technology Center.

His mom Nelfa Rivera Briones, a Cebu government employee for more than 30 years now, is a great influence.

Eric has one sister, Carmel Lee. Her wife Maricel Carlos-Briones, who he married in 2009, is “brilliant at what she does and helps me figure out stuff.” She is a fulltime personal assistant and administrator for a law firm here in the UAE.

 

Key Thing To Hold

 

“I will never claim to be unique with what I do and with what I can deliver because there is always someone who can do it better, worst, or exactly the same as me. The only thing that makes me unique maybe is my person- the sum of all that I can and can do will never be the same with anyone else.”

“You do not need to learn from schools to become a web designer cum developer. I graduated a Mechanical Engineer. I know a lot of programmers and designers who have different educational background. The key thing to hold maybe is to just love making websites and continue to grow.”

 

For one to succeed in his field, he must have a good sense of design and be willing to learn. “It is not in what I know now that makes me valuable, but it is in a way that I know how to find solutions to my problems.”

“Read about it. There are lots of web designers all over the world. Some of them are very young while others are in the field for years. There is no sense in competing with the rest of them. You don’t get hired because you are the best web designer. You get hired because you are a reliable web designer who the company can trust to deliver a project.”

Notwithstanding all the accolades, he said he has yet to arrive. “I am quite happy with what I have attained now. Life is always a journey. I still have a lot of plans that I want to pursue. Maybe even after that, I will not say that I have arrived. I will always be moving.”

o0o —————– o0o

IMG_3984THE BLOGGER. Ulysses Espartero is a journalist, historian and book author who traces his roots from two Philippine jewels – Laguna and Antique.  While in Dubai, he enjoyed his expat life documenting the struggles and victories of migrant workers in the Gulf Cooperation Council states. In 2014, he released Precious Gems in a Desert of Gold, the first and only coffee table book about Filipino achievers in the United Arab Emirates. Connect with him on facebook.

Leave a Reply

