Royal photographer captures beautiful moments the regal way

Vanj Cubero

Evangeline Mallari Cubero shoots mainly people. Although she started with fashion photography, which she really enjoyed, her heart tells her to shoot what she loves –  maternity, newborn, toddlers, kids, teens, couples, engagements and weddings.

Over the last two years, she photographed many events  including those which took place at the Ritz Carlton, Fairmont Al Bahar, the Emirates Palace, ADNEC, Department of Transport, Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank, Burj Khalifa (Guess), Marina Mall, Sharjah Ladies Club.

Vanj, as she is fondly called, has worked on shooting several engineering design competitions at the Petroleum Institute (University).

2

Once, a Senior Flight Attendant

Her passion for photography began in 1994 when she started travelling for work.  Her first job after graduating from university was working for Royal Brunei Airlines as Senior Flight Attendant  where she had the privilege to travel around the world for seven years.

“Even back then, I spent a lot of time printing photos and making collages and albums. Back in the days of film, it was quite costly to print but for me it was important to document my travels in an artistic way. My dad gave me a decent Nikon film camera which stayed with me for many years.”

When she moved to Australia after getting married in 2001, she still took photos of flowers

and gardens and created albums. In 2010, she moved to Abu Dhabi. “I met some new friends and one of them had a Nikon D90. The first time I used it, my world shifted and I quickly told my husband “I need one of these!” I can’t explain how it felt but it was amazing. It was like finding a treasure.”

That led her to buying her first DSLR Nikon D7000 in 2011 which she really enjoyed using during her learning years.

3

Creating priceless memories

Vanj has been involved in shooting many charity events, fashion shoots, corporate functions, weddings and engagement shoots.

Her skills have continually evolved and she’s constantly learning. “After shooting different genres of photography,  I’ve discovered that the thing that I cherish most are portraits of familes, couples, children, babies and newborns. I find so much joy in using my skills to create priceless memories for others. I love freezing those candid moments of love and connections within the family.”

For her, photography is not just painting with light. It’s freezing time and capturing

life’s most beautiful moments. “I find that most families I photoshoot never had their family photo taken professionally so I consider it a privilege and an honor to capture that special moment in their life and make it unforgettable.”

4

Maternity, newborn session

Her  style is classic, playful and creative. She tries to capture something special and memorable in candid and posed shots. Her sessions are very personalised and through consultations, she will help you choose and coordinate outfits and props that suit your style and personality.

1

“We live in a digital world but I am still a big advocate of prints and albums.  I can help you create artwork and memorabilia like coffee table books, albums and small to large canvas prints. There is nothing like a beautifully-posed portrait hanging on the wall of your home.”

6

Footprints in peoples’ lives

She can’t see herself doing something else for the rest of her life. “Photography is my dream job and I have never put more effort into anything else really. My camera is almost like an energizer battery for me.”

a

She’s inspired by the look on her clients’ faces when they see their album for the first time. “In this digital world, I’m still a big advocate of printing. I love it when my clients choose to have an album printed for them. For me it’s like the ‘icing on the cake’.

b

“If I could leave some footprints in peoples lives through my photos and become a part of their history, for me that’s an accomplishment in itself. I never joined photography contests but I know that if my clients are happy and satisfied with their photos, I am already a winner!”

7

Giving back

Last year, she co-organized a make-up workshop with a professional make-up artist from Dubai which was followed by an open-shoot in Corniche in the capital.

Just recently, she collaborated with another photographer, Suzette Bayonito, to improve her videography skills by filming with her in Dubai Creek. “I am collaborating a video-editing workshop with a few other photographers/videographers in Dubai. I believe videography is the next big thing.”

For many years, she has supported ChildFund in Australia. She’s currently sponsoring a Filipino child with World Vision. “Locally, I love supporting charity shoots and events especially those that are for the benefit of our fellow Filipinos affected by typhoons, earthquakes and also diseases. I had supported some families who were in dire need of financial aid but I prefer not to go into details.”

Right now, she’s a member of Abu Dhabi Photographers Club. She’s very excited to join the Annual Worldwide Photo-Walk with world-renowned Scott Kelby next month.  (This article originally appeared in a Dubai-based newspaper.)

5

o0o —————– o0o

IMG_3984THE BLOGGER. Ulysses Espartero is a journalist, historian and book author who traces his roots from two Philippine jewels – Laguna and Antique.  While in Dubai, he enjoyed his expat life documenting the struggles and victories of migrant workers in the Gulf Cooperation Council states. In 2014, he released Precious Gems in a Desert of Gold, the first and only coffee table book about Filipino achievers in the United Arab Emirates. Connect with him on facebook.

2 thoughts on “Royal photographer captures beautiful moments the regal way

  1. Pingback: Famous Photographers – angeliquebaja

Leave a Reply

